One Month with my iPhone 4S

Since there’s nothing much to do on the flight to San Francisco, i decided to draft out a blog post on my iPad. Well, It’s been exactly one month today since I’ve started using the latest smartphone offering from Apple. So what are the gripes (if any) do I have? Or is it all just songs and praises?

‘S’ for steroid in iPhone 4S?
Everything is just so blistering fast on the new iPhone. Everything. And this is not just because I upgraded from my trusty iPhone 3GS. Even comparing side-by-side with the iPhone 4, the new dual-core A5 chip really blast everything out of the water. Web pages load faster, games in brilliantly high frame rate, apps loads in a snap. In fact, I find the speed improvement is even greater comparing against the iPhone 4 and the iPhone 3GS back in the day. I can’t imagine myself going back a little prehistoric with something even slightly slower.

Siri is here to stay
All the skeptical, including myself, thought no one would use Siri in the aerial world once the hype dies down. And Siri is just something that the new adopters of the iPhone 4S can brag in front of their friends. But no, I don’t agree with that. I actually use Siri quite a bit on a daily basis. Extremely handy when it comes to setting your alarm, calling your friends, converting currency and finding facts. In fact, the power of Siri seems limitless with hackers and developers coming out with all sorts of interesting plug-ins that can control your room or computer. Straight out of sci-fi movies, I tell you.

Pixel Perfect
The improved 8-megapixel camere that allows you to shoot full HD movie is the best compliment to the Retina display. Photos are so crisp and sharp. In fact, there has been a few occasion which I just used my iPhone 4S instead of my reliable Canon PnS. I mean, once you take the photo, it’s geo-tagged and you can share it on Twitter and Facebook instantly. Technology has really came so far.

Complains, if any?
Well, many might be betting that I’ll be whining on the battery issue. The thing is, I don’t think I’m affected, even though I’m running on the original iOS 5. My phone can last me well throughout the day. I mean, if you glue your eyes to Facebook and Whatsapp, of course your battery won’t last. I think my tips do help me with the battery.

Another interesting complain I’ve heard is Siri can’t seem to understand the Singaporean’s English. I really think this is more of an individual issue rather than with Apple, cause my friends and I seems to get along well with Siri. Maybe you should try to speak properly, in proper grammar and pronunciation.

The only complain I have is why until now, there’s no jailbreak for the phone? I mean, Apple is coming out with iOS 5.1 pretty soon and the iPhone hacking scene seems pretty quiet. Too bad Geohot is no longer part of it.

Overall, I am still very satisfied and happy with the performance of the iPhone 4S. It is what the iPhone 4 should have been, as with all the ‘S’ models. I can’t wait to get my hands on the LifeProof case so that I can enjoy all the sweet features of the iPhone 4S virtually anywhere in any situation.